Dinner Winner!

12 Jul

I really enjoy cooking! I would not call myself an amazing cook but I know my way around the kitchen. But a huge problem for me has been getting dinner prepared in a decent amount of time. It’s not unheard of for me to spending upwards of 90 minutes or even 2 hours on a simple lasagna or enchiladas. I didn’t believe that you could actually prepare a full meal in 30 minutes or less (partly because I’m not a fan of Rachel Ray, just saying…). So last night I decided to give this recipe a try from Bon Appetit.

I had some chicken thighs marinating because I had planned on just throwing them in the oven but we really prefer the skin to be crispy which never seems to happen when I bake chicken. So I was very excited to make this:

Perfect Pan Roasted Chicken Thighs via bonappetit.com

Unfortunately, because my chicken was too wet from the marinade my thighs came out like this:

However, they were still delicious! In the future I will forgo the marinade for just salt and pepper and be sure to “air dry” the chicken in the fridge for a few hours. I paired the chicken with a roasted vegetable medley from my recent farmer’s market trip. Some olive oil, salt, pepper, a dash of balsamic vinegar and about 25 minutes in the oven – so simple!

All in all this was about a 35 minute meal. Chicken thighs with the skin is certainly not the most healthy cut of chicken but it’s an inexpensive option and with recipes like this, a very tasty option too! Bon appetit!

3 Responses to “Dinner Winner!”

  1. Needle and Fork July 12, 2012 at 5:16 pm #

    come check out our food blog for fun easy recipes!!

    • dirty30sblog July 12, 2012 at 5:27 pm #

      Love your blog! Now following! You had me at the compost cookie mix, lol!

  2. sani panini July 12, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

    Looks good!

Leave a Reply

