Good morning Lover.ly

21 Jun

How much time have you wasted spent on Pinterest? I’m a true Pin-a-holic. I’m able to admit this after 2 specific incidents:

  • My fiance caught me at 2am, in the dark, pinning away – I scrambled to open my email and pretend I was working.
  • At this point Myles will only fall asleep if you one of us sits in his room while he sings, counts, recites the ABCs, talks to his sleep sheep, etc. This takes anywhere from 20 – 60 minutes. I used to dread this time simply because I would get tired too, usually fall asleep also and lose out on valuable evening time. That is, until his down time also became my prime pinning time! Selfishly, I no longer insisted that Myles learn to fall asleep on his own.  (I know we shouldn’t dread anytime time with our kids but let’s be honest, we all need some downtime, alone time or couple time at night. Passing out by 8:30 meant I wasn’t getting that time)

I was just starting to wean myself from Pinterest when I was introduced to Lover.ly. Game over. This Pinterest inspired site is exclusive to weddings and has sorting features that allow you search by color or category, for example. You can bundle (add to your board) or like items, or in some cases there is “shop” link that directs you to purchasing info.

The images are really beautiful and inspiring. Although it’s wedding specific, I think you can draw inspiration for throwing other types of parties and events or even figuring out your design aesthetic when decorating your home!

I’m back into deep procrastination mode for the wedding and had stayed off of Pinterest and Lover.ly for a few days. Then I got an email from the Lover.ly team saying “we miss you.” I missed them too. Then they emailed again with “Destination Deliciousness – destination wedding inspired images.” I must say Lover.ly, you sure know how to make a girl feel special. Do they know I’m getting married in Mexico and struggling with a decor scheme? Get out of my head!

Check them out but WARNING – be sure you have at least an hour to waste look!

3 Responses to “Good morning Lover.ly”

  1. Erin @ Happier, Healthier, More Fit Me June 23, 2012 at 7:59 pm #

    We got married in Mexico two Novembers ago! It was the best decision I’ve ever made? Loved it! Where abouts are you getting married?

    I wish pinterest was around then…theme is always difficult!

    Happy Planning! And Congratulations!

    • dirty30sblog June 23, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

      Thanks Erin! We’re getting married in Cancun at the Beach Palace. So far it’s been a pretty frustrating process. I would love to hear more about your wedding – how did you manage the planning process?

  2. Erin @ Happier, Healthier, More Fit Me June 26, 2012 at 1:59 am #

    We were married at the Azul Sensatori in the Mayan…it was beautiful!

    As for the planning…I pretty much did absolutely nothing until the last possible minute. When my assigned wedding planner called to collect the final numbers and it was time to pay, we pretty much made all decisions on the spot over the phone. It was awesome! I live in Canada and our planner was in Maimi, we basically went through every detail that morning and I picked everything from the website. I had gathered a few pictures of things I liked and we just sent pics back and forth… I sent her a pic of the flowers I liked, she sent me one back of what they could do or had that was similar, same for centerpieces, decor, rehersal dinner, dinner, photographer, ceremony location, dinner location….everything!

    I did not feel good about things until that moment. When we arrived at the resort we had a quick meeting with the onsite planner and everything was perfect. they delivered our welcome bags to ech room before the guests took possession so they were waiting there do them. Once there it was super stress free. We skipped out on a rehearsal and the ceremony was perfect…we did have to write our own vows, and the minister didn’t have the best English, but it was perfect!

    How many guests are you having. There were 40 of us. Babies, kids, adults, older adults, and everyone loved it.

    Try not to stress about it, everything will fall into place. I know it’s hard, I read on destination wedding forums that that was just how it was, and everyone swore that things would fall into place…and hey did! Your wedding is going to be amazing! I’m so excited for you!

Leave a Reply

