Your Monthly Gift

19 Jun

Not that one. This is something you can actually look forward to! I’m talking about Birch Box. In some ways I’m a beauty product junky, I really like to buy new things. But I’m also a brand loyalist, so I don’t necessarily try the new things I purchase. So I would end up buying new products (not using them) and still buying the products I love, not exactly cost effective. Enter Birch Box – I get 5 new trial-size products each month without too much of an investment. I can try something new without having to sacrifice buying what I love.

Here’s how it works:

  • you pay $10 per month
  • around the 12th of each month you receive a box with 5 sample size products (sometimes you get deluxe size or even full size nail polishes)
  • when signing up you complete a profile and get products based on your preferences
  • you can (but you certainly don’t have to) buy the full size products. Plus, with each full size purchase you earn points (points = cash towards products)
My review:
  • I genuinely look forward to receiving my box each month
  • I’d rather spend $10/month on this instead of Netflix. $10 per month can definitely add up but for me it’s still a negligible amount that I can justify with 2 fewer trips to Starbucks
  • You get some hits and misses with the products. Some of the items are random and personally, I don’t like it when they include food items like a Kind Bar or vitamin C drink mix. Overall, there are way more hits. Some of my favorites have included the Zoya and Essie nail polishes, BeneTint by Benefit, Sugar lip balms and Philosophy face products
  • Sometimes the boxes are themed or feature a certain designer. May featured a Gossip Girl inspired box and a few months ago the box was Cynthia Rowland’s favorite things.
  • I’ve been subscribing for about a year and will continue. It’s a fun treat just for me!

May Birch Box – Gossip Girl inspired

June Birch Box – travel theme

This was a rare morning that I got to sleep in until 8am and enjoy watching a little bit of the Today Show! Such a treat! During the Today’s Beauty segment they featured Birch Box so I thought why not throw in my two cents as well.

Do you have a monthly splurge?

2 Responses to “Your Monthly Gift”

  1. Naomi June 19, 2012 at 7:41 pm #

    I really wish we had Birchbox over here in the UK! Great post 🙂

    Naomi x

  2. PB Blog June 21, 2012 at 7:21 am #

    wow, you got quite a haul here! By the way, I started looking into birchbox because of this post 🙂

Leave a Reply

